Council Year 2004/2005

<u>Schedule of Group Nominations, including proposed appointments to the</u> <u>Cabinet by the Leader</u>

(Substitutes are allowed where indicated. The Council's Constitution requires that these be named and appointed at the Annual meeting. A number equal to the number of committee members from a Group up to a maximum of 3 are allowed for that Group).

<u>CABINET</u> (Leader of the Council plus 4 additional members of the controlling group). The formal appointment of the four members (other than the Leader) is to be made by the Leader following his/her appointment by the full Council. Although the Council has previously determined that the size of the Cabinet shall be five in total it is open to the Leader to recommend the Council to agree a different size. The law requires that the Cabinet shall have at least 3 but not more than 10 members (including the Leader).

	Leader of the Council: Councillor G Marsden	
2	Deputy Leader: Councillor D Elkin	
4	Councillor R Lacey, OBE	
3	Councillor I Lucas	
5	Councillor C Williams	

OPPOSITION "SHADOW CABINET" (Notification for information)

1	Opposition Leader: Councillor D Tutt	
2	Deputy Leader: Councillor N Stanley	
3	Councillor R Slater	
4	Councillor M Thompson	
5	Councillor Miss O Woodall	

COMMITTEES

Ē

<u>Scrutiny Committee</u> (7 (or 8) members, not members of the Cabinet or the Mayor. To be chaired by a Councillor from either the controlling group or the largest opposition group.

T

	Controlling Group		Opposition		
1	Councillor C Belsey	5	Ch: Councillor Mrs B Healy		
2	Councillor Mrs S Howlett	6	D/Ch: Councillor N Marsh		
3	Councillor B Taylor	7	Councillor Mrs M Bannister		
4	Councillor P Warner	Substitutes:			
(8)		1	Councillor J Harris		
Substitutes:	+	2	Councillor R Slater		
1	Councillor S Herbert	3			
2	Councillor Mrs A Murray				
3	Councillor D Stevens				
		1			

Planning and Licensing Committee (8 trained "Regulatory Pool" Councillors - not Cabinet members).

	Controlling Group		Opposition	
1	Ch: Councillor P Bowker	6	Councillor J Harris	

3 Councillor Mrs S Howlett 8 Councillor M Skilton 4 Councillor Mrs A Murray	1 Pooley
4 Councillor Mrs A Murray	
5 Councillor D Stevens	

Substitutes to be drawn from the Regulatory Pool.

<u>Additional Regulatory Pool Councillors</u> (not Cabinet members - "Regulatory Pool" to total 12 in total including Planning and Licensing Committee members).

	Controlling Group		Opposition	
1	Councillor C Belsey	3	Councillor Mrs I Sims	
2	Councillor S Herbert	4	Councillor R Slater	

Standards Committee (4 councillors and 2 independent members and to be chaired by one of the independent members. Not to include Mayor or Leader and a maximum of one Cabinet member)

	Controlling Group		Opposition	
1	Councillor D Stevens	3	Councillor C Berry	
2	Councillor B Taylor	4	Councillor Mrs B	Healy
Substitutes:		Substitutes:		
1	Councillor P Bowker	1	Councillor Mrs M	Pooley

2	Councillor Mrs A Murray	Councillor M Skilton	
PANELS	1		

Licensing Panel (3 (or 4) members to be selected on an ad hoc basis from the "Regulatory Pool"). Nomination for standing Chairman:

Ch:	Councillor Mrs A Murray	

Other Panels. Members to be selected in accordance with provisions of Part 3 of the Constitution as and when required.

ADVISORY GROUPS

Conservation Area Advisory Group (3 (or 4) members, not "Regulatory Pool" members, plus external advisors)

Controlling Group		Oppo	sition
1	Ch: Councillor D Elkin	3	Councillor Miss O Woodall
2	D/Ch: Councillor C Williams	(4)	Nomination to be advised

Tenants Advisory Group (5 (or 6) members, plus tenant representatives).

	Controlling Group		Opposition
1	Ch: Councillor Mrs A Murray	4	Councillor Mrs M Pooley
2	D/Ch: Councillor C Williams	5	Councillor Mrs I Sims
3	Councillor I Lucas	(6)	Nomination to be advised
T 1 (C) 00 C			

Joint Staff Consultative Committee (6 members, 3 from the controlling group and 3 from the largest opposition group, plus Staff representatives. Controlling Group's representation to include 2 Cabinet and 1 non-Cabinet member. Chairmanship alternates between Employer's and Staff Sides).

	Controlling Group		Opposition
1	D/Ch: Councillor G Marsden	4	Councillor N Marsh
2	Councillor P Bowker	5	Councillor M Skilton
3	Councillor I Lucas	6	Councillor M Thompson

TASK GROUPS AND OTHER BODIES:

1

Г

Performance Management Task Group (5 members to include at least 1 Cabinet member and at least 1 member of the Scrutiny Committee)

	Controlling Group			Opposition	
1	Ch: Councillor I Lucas		4	Councillor Mrs Ba	nnister
2	D/Ch: Councillor N	Ars S Howlett	5	Councillor N Stanley	
3	Councillor C Belsey				

Grants Task Group (3 members)

	Controlling Group			Opposition	
1	Ch: Councillor R I	Lacey, OBE	3	Councillor M Skilton	
2	Councillor S Herbert				
Downland For	m (4 members)			ТТТ	

Downland Forum (4 members)

Controlli	ng Group		Opposition	
1	Councillor R Lacey, OBE	3	Councillor M Skilton	
2	Councillor D Stevens	(4)	Councillor Miss O Wo	odall

Cleansing and Highways Forum (2 members)

Controlling Group		Opposition
Councillor D Elkin		Councillor Miss O Woodall
Fastbourne Buses I imited - Non	Executive Directors (1 members)	

Eastbourne Buses Limited - Non Executive Directors (4 members)

Controllin	ng Group		Opposition	
	Ch: Councillor D Warner	3	Councillor C Berry	
2	Councillor D Elkin	4	Councillor R Slater	

BEST VALUE REVIEW TEAMS: All 2 members.

Health

Controlling Group	Opposition
Councillor C Williams	Councillor Mrs M Pooley

Housing Management (Repairs and Maintenance)

Controlling Group	Opposition
Councillor Mrs S Howlett	Councillor Mrs M Pooley

PROJECT BOARDS

Members' IT

Controlling Group	Opposition
Councillor R Lacey, OBE	Councillor J Harris
Town Centre Development	

Town Centre Development

Controlling Group	Opposition
Councillor G Marsden	Councillor Mrs B Healy

Cleansing

Controlling Group	Opposition
Councillor D Elkin	Nomination to be advised

Parking Decriminalisation

Controlling Group	Opposition
Councillor D Elkin	No nomination to be made
Wartling Road Coach and Lorry Park	

Controlling Group Opposition Councillor G Marsden Councillor Miss O Woodall

Cultural Centre

Controlling Group	Opposition

Councillor G Marsden	Councillor D Tutt
OTHER	1

Councillors appointed to hold a Youth Brief

Controlling Group		Opposition			
1	Councillor S Herbert		3	Councillor C Berry	
2	Councillor P Warner		4	Councillor Mrs I Sims	

Councillors appointed to hold an "E-Champion" Brief

Controlling Group		Opposition Group		
	Councillor R Lacey, OBE	2	Councillor J Harris	
(der\P:council/04.06	23/schedule of group r	(ame)		Г

(der\P:council/04.06.23/schedule of group noms)